Digital Screenprint

The day after preparing our image for the screenprint, we had been tasked with creating a screenprint digitally using the pen tool and effects with layers in Photoshop. These effects included changing the opacity, sharpness and layer effects. The photo I decided to use was of the ‘Golf Ball’ at the entrance to Epcot in Disney World, Florida.

We first started by transforming the image into a halftone image, by changing the levels in the photo. I then started to use the pen tool by picking out elements of the photo to create shapes out of them. We needed to follow the path finder to fill in the different shapes. To create curved edges we use the anchor tool on specific points where the curve in the object was. Because my image consisted on polygons, I didn’t find much need to use the anchor points. The more green polygons have been created by the pen tool.

snap

With the halftone image, I chose to change the Hue and Saturation in the photo. This saved me a lot of time with creating different shapes to form the top layer of the screenprint. I liked this result because it revealed the texture of the object in the photo rather than flat shapes which I have created in Photoshop.

Because we needed to create a two layer digital screenprint I decided to fill in the background with a dark red. This created interesting contrast between the green shapes, the half tone image, and the background.

snap1

I then decided to experiment with the Hue and Saturation again after putting a colour in the background. First I tested with the Hue after setting the Saturation to 100%. It came out with some extremely interesting and vibrant effects. This reminded me of Andy Warhol’s style of work and the colours he used.

I then tested with the Hue of the image at 50% saturation. This came out with less vibrant effects with a less distinctive contrast between colours, compared to using 100% saturation in the image.

I then used the effects I had previously learnt with preparing an image for a screenprint, and applied them to one of the layers. I applied the Pixelated Color Halftone effect to the photo. I set the Max Radius to 25 pixels after discovering that 8-20 pixels were too small.

As you can see, the right image is slightly different to the left image. After applying the Pixelated Color Halftone effect to the image in a new layer, I decided it looked a bit too pixelated. I adjusted the opacity of the layer and further decided to use the eraser tool to erase parts out of the layer to balance the contrast between the clear and pixelated layers of the image.

lightpink

After adding the pixelated effect, I created another layer and pasted the image into it. I decided I wanted to fill part of the white area in the object. I decided to fill it with a light pink. After filling it, I placed the new layer underneath the pixelated layer. After deciding the pink stood out too much, I adjusted the opacity so it looked less prominent in the screen print. As before with changing the Hue and Saturation in the previous images, I decided to do the same to this version of the digital screenprint. I set the Saturation to 100% and changed the Hue for each version of the image. The added pink made a significant difference to the contrast between colours, which made the image so much more interesting and lively.

Author: jennifertaylorgraphics

First year student studying Graphic Communication at the Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

